Headlines News :
Home » » Malaysia Premier League

Malaysia Premier League

Written By The Tambadau on Thursday, January 23, 2014 | 12:45 PM

The Malaysian Premier League (Liga Perdana Malaysia) is the second-tier football league in Malaysia. The league is currently named Astro Malaysia Premier League (Astro Liga Perdana Malaysia in Malay) for sponsorship purposes. The league was previously called the TM Malaysia Premier League because of the sponsorship of Telekom Malaysia, But it was changed after Astro became the league sponsors replacing Telekom Malaysia.

Between 1998 to 2003, the second-tier league existed as the Malaysia Premier Two League, below the top-flight Malaysia Premier One League. In 2004, it was relaunched as the Malaysia Premier League, and the top-tier league was renamed the Malaysia Super League.

Between 2004 and 2006, the professional football league in Malaysia was divided into three groups:
  • First Division: Malaysia Super League
  • Second Division: Malaysia Premier League Group A
  • Second Division: Malaysia Premier League Group B

At the end of the season, the top team from each group of the Premier League was promoted to the Malaysia Super League. The teams which finished bottom of each group were relegated to the National League Malaysia. The two group champions also faced-off to determine the Malaysia Premier League Championship.

For the 2006-07 season, the Malaysia Premier League was reorganised into a single league of 11 teams instead of being a competition involving two separate groups of teams.

In 2010, The Football Association of Malaysia released a new logo for the 2011 season, followed by another new logo made from the league sponsor, Astro for the 2012 season.
Share this article :


Speak up your mind

Tell us what you're thinking... !

Support : The Tambadau Team
Copyright © 2014. The Tambadau - Penyokong Bolasepak Sabah - All Rights Reserved
Graphic and Design by The Tambadau Team
Proudly powered by Blogger Pro

Sumber rujukan utama kami bagi perkembangan bolasepak Sabah ialah di Sabah FA